St George's CE Primary School and Nursery

Nurturing the Spirit Succeeding Together Learning for Life

Early Years

In the Early Years Foundation Stage pupils learn across seven areas of learning and development. These are:

Three prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

Four Specific Areas:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

There is a strong emphasis on learning through play, both pupil initiated and planned play. The curriculum is delivered through a combination of whole class activities, adult led focused activities and pupil initiated activities.