St George's CE Primary School and Nursery

Nurturing the Spirit Succeeding Together Learning for Life

Learning in the EYFS

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.  Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven areas of learning and development.  Children should mostly develop the three prime areas first. 

These are:

 Communication and language
 Physical development
 Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.  As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas.  These are:

 Understanding the world
 Expressive arts and design

These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. 


To read more about the EYFS, please visit